Update on My Natural Yeast Adventure

My initial excitement in experimenting with natural yeast has worn off. Most of it was squelched by my family and I have realized that I should have probably gone about the whole process in a totally different way. I wanted to try everything at once and they were not so anxious. Therefore, they were the guinea pigs when the recipe didn’t turn out quite right or when I tried the one that had a stronger flavor than they were prepared for.

My husband actually complained that his sweat smelled sour because of all the sourdough in his system. I didn’t notice it, but he seemed to think it was a real problem! The bottom line here is that I may have gone a little overboard in applying this new practice in my cooking.

How many other things in life can this little idea apply to?

My children have continued to beg for me to just let the yeast die! I dehydrated some as a precaution in case that actually occurred, and then I practiced controlled disregard. I kept the natural yeast start in the door of the refrigerator like usual, but I didn’t look at it very often. Then, when it looked really hungry, I would feed it and then use a little in some waffles or English muffins (the items that got the least complaints), or just feed a cups worth and throw the rest away.

This has continued for a while now. The bread in the freezer actually got used without too much complaint and yesterday I decided to make bread again. Summer vacation is almost here and we’ll want sandwiches for lunch. This time I used the recipe that Melissa Richardson (author of The Art of Baking with Natural Yeastindicated was the most acceptable to those who are not excited about sourdough.DSCN2844I’m pretty sure that my family knows it’s sourdough because I forgot about it last night when I was supposed to do the second raise and bake it, so it got an extra long rise time (like 18 hours instead of 12).

This morning when I remembered, it had much more than doubled in volume! I made sure to use my timer that has to be manually turned off to time the 2 ½ hour rise so I wouldn’t forget. The bread is not as pretty because of the extra time raising, but it is nice and light. I love it! DSCN2845I hope my family will find it more palatable. There is still a mild sourdough flavor, but I plan to have enough molasses on hand for next time. I didn’t have quite the recommended amount yesterday and was loath to go to the store just then. The molasses is supposed to really mask the sourdough flavor. If they want different bread, they know how to make it, and I will at least have bread for me:) I thought about just making sourdough items when they’re not around, but the long rise times make that a bit difficult. They’re bound to notice when there’s dough sitting on the counter, covered with a damp towel. Little by little, I’m determined to convert them, just like I’ll convert my eyes to seeing in stereo!

Leave a Reply

