Overcoming challenges

Last week was challenging because I somehow ended up with an eye infection. Apparently there are three types of “pink eye:” allergic, viral and bacterial. I had the bacterial version, a staph infection, with ulcers on my corneas. My doctor prescribed an antibiotic eye drop with steroids to help the inflammation. I have never seen eyes so red—especially not mine.

As a consequence of the infection, I ended up wearing my glasses for a couple of days. They are a stronger prescription than the contacts I have been wearing and at first it bothered me. I was amazed at how quickly I adapted to it again though. It was like going back to square one in therapy too. I couldn’t do any of the computer games, couldn’t see close up because of my presbyopia, and couldn’t wear reading glasses with glasses. So I would take off my glasses to see close up and bring the object really close to my face.  I could see really good far away for a change though. . . Yep, it took me pretty much back to square one. My eye turn is worse with the stronger prescription too. I can feel the pull more. After a couple of days using eye drops, I was back to wearing contacts and things improved a little with my vision therapy.

My best computer vision therapy scores come when I am doing it without any correction. I have to get pretty close to the screen, but I can do the binocular reading and the randot much better without glasses or contacts. (My fusion extends out about 12-18 inches.)  We tried a couple of new things at vision therapy this week and I had a little improvement.  I am also going to stretch myself more in my home therapy. My doctor instructed me to stop reading without contacts or glasses to force my focus out further. That will be a challenge for me because I enjoy reading in bed after I remove my contacts.

On a brighter note, my children are doing great. They should be done within the next month or two. If I had had this opportunity when I younger, I wouldn’t be doing a major rewire on my brain right now.

Leave a comment